Author
:: Quote ::
Subject: Shall I learn PHP or Perl?
As a webmaster I'm finding it very difficult to get things done without a programing language under my belt. Outsourcing is out of the question do to trust factors..

So what's the verdict, shall I go ahead and learn PHP or Perl?

To me PHP looks like gibberish while Perl is like reading English, I've also seen excellent Perl libraries stuff that would save one a lot of time.

I'm also hearing about PHP versions compatibility issues.

On the other hand PHP seems to be the language of choice for most webmasters out there, probably because it looks like C which I am totally ignorant in.

Applications that I want to build of integrate might involve mysql database access, htaccess file access, logs monitoring, alerts..

So what's the verdict, Perl or PHP?
March 27, 2008 07:21PM
Joshua
Administrator
Subject: Re: Shall I learn PHP or Perl?
Quote:
Outsourcing is out of the question do to trust factors..
NDA Maybe?

Do you do any programming at all? I always think and say it really doesn't matter too much what language it is. Basic principles are always the same. Syntax may differ slightly. There is a huge different though on object oriented and the procedural approach.

Rewriting .htaccess files with code as part of user interaction doesn't sound like a smart thing to do.
March 28, 2008 09:55PM
GegaBit
>Do you do any programming at all?

I even have a university degree to prove it too :-) but that was 18 years ago. The last coding I've done was a quick hack in Apple script to verify and transfer files over an Appletalk network many years ago, procedural approach is fine, basic concepts is fine, OO is Chinese to me! In theory I can code, but we all know how theories crumble when reality hits.

The htaccess and log file monitoring is related to blocking IPs not user interaction.
March 28, 2008 11:07PM
Joshua
Administrator
As I understood you want to unblock IPs based on users action (captcha, or whatever).